Foreign Film

You know, for a long time I didn’t have a lot of respect for the foreign film. I was one of those who watched the American versions of foreign films or the ones who are dubbed, like Godzilla movies. But that’s changed. I have so much respect for it now. I mean, subtitles are hard to follow because it’s hard to watch the movie when you’re looking at the bottom of the screen, and I’m not a fast reader.

But the movie that really made me think differently about all that was the movie M with Peter Lorre. I saw that movie in one of my film class, pretty good film. But at the end of the movie, when Peter Lorre is put on vigilante trial, he tries to defend his guilty crime and pleads with them not to execute him. The emotion of his performance was great and I think, it wouldn’t be as powerful when it is dubbed. Ever since then, I refuse to watch a dubbed foreign film. Like, I really wanted to see the movie [Rec*], I found it for free on Crackle and I was really excited, but was disappointed to discover it was dubbed. So I didn’t watch it, I waited for my brother to bring it over and watch it. And I enjoyed it a lot, the lead actress was adorable.

The point is, I won’t watch dubbed foreign films anymore, and I really want to see the original 1954 Japanese Godzilla movie sometime, I saw the American version. You know, the one that took all the footage from the original and spliced in Raymond Burr. Boo! Sounds like the Power Rangers show. Those of you who don’t know, Power Rangers was a Japanese show, and all they did was reenact the scenes with American actors and recycled the actual Rangers in costume footage from Japan. So, all that footage of the Rangers in costume fighting were the Japanese actors. But that’s neither here nor there.

I really want to see more foreign films, like Seven Samurai, that’s intriguing. Americans aren’t the only ones who make good films. It might be harder to pay attention, but it would be worth it. I really wanna see [Rec*] 2 sometime.

Leave a Reply

