Friday the 13th Reboot (Again)

I just finished the Friday the 13th documentary Crystal Lake Memories, very informative. Which reminds me that Paramount wants to make a, ironically, 13th Jason film, another reboot. I liked the reboot that Michael Bay produced, I liked it a lot but it had it’s problems. For example, way too much sex, even for a Friday the 13th. It had the right idea combining the best elements into one movie, such as Jason’s mother in the opening and Jason starting with the sack mask and then hockey mask. But what really bothered me about the story was it forgot what started the story, the camp setting, the idea of camp counselors trying to reopen a camp that has a huge urban legend behind it. Instead, made Camp Crystal Lake a derelict for Jason set up shop.

Now that they’re doing another one, I’m really hoping they go back to the story of reopening the camp. If I did it, I would set up the story of Jason in present time, and cut back between that and Jason’s mother. Like a Chris Nolan movie. With Alice as the center point, she would be there at the camp with Mama Voorhees, then two years later returning to the camp to face her fears only to encounter the son of the maniac she faced before who wishes to do vengeance on her for killing his mother. The film would be set in present time with Jason, but we’d tell Alice’s encounter with Mama Voorhees in flashbacks. I mean, I don’t know what these writers have planned, I mean, “These kids smoke better dope then I do.” Or do they? That’s just what I would do, I even wrote a little treatment for fun. Though most probably wouldn’t agree with bringing back Mama Voorhees, I just like including her more because people tend to forget that she started it all.

I put together my own Friday the 13th script. This is just what I would’ve done if I wrote a script

http://weylandyutanicorp.deviantart.com/art/Friday-the-13th-Reboot-459764129

Whatever they have planned, I hope to god they don’t do a found-footage. As much as I like found-footage, NO! NO! NO! No found-footage Friday.

Leave a Reply

