TMNT Review

I just got back from seeing the new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie. I liked it. I liked it a lot. But there are some things I didn’t agree with.

1. Let’s start with the origin story. I was okay with some of the changes to their origin, but I miss where Splinter learned martial arts. In the original stories, Splinter learned it from his owner, Hamato Yoshi. He practiced his martial arts as Splinter watched him from his cage. I mean, I feel they could’ve worked that somewhere in the movie.

2. I didn’t really like the Eric Sacks character, I feel if we needed a corporate business bad guy, they could’ve used Dr. Baxter Stockman. Not that we need the Mouser Robots, but still, they could’ve still used the character.

3. Karai, Shredder’s adopted daughter. I’ve always been fascinated by the character in the cartoons. I feel in this movie she should’ve been much younger. Like Jamie Chung younger.

4. This is my biggest problem I had. The Foot Clan. My picture of the Foot Clan are skilled, badass, ninja soldiers, all trained by Shredder. In this movie, they looked like common thugs.

But I digress. I still liked the movie. Some would probably feel that Shredder’s robot suit was over-the-top unnecessary. The way I see it, it gives Shredder an advantage against four superhuman, mutant turtles with martial arts training.

I mean, it was better then the rumors I heard. I once heard that Eric Sacks was gonna be the Shredder and was gonna be an alien. I am aware of the original storyline involving the Turtles being aliens, but that was changed along time ago. It seemed possible for him to be the Shredder since his name was an homage to the Shredder’s real name, Oroku Saki.

Leave a Reply

