Amazing Spider-Man Franchise: Cancelled?! WTF?!

After they announced they rebooted the Spider-Man franchise after Spider-Man 3 I was so disappointed. Because I felt Spider-Man 3 could’ve been redeemed in a 4th, I didn’t want Spider-Man 3 to be the end of Sam Raimi’s series. I avoided The Amazing Spider-Man for a long time, until I recorded it on one of my movie channels just to form an opinion of it. And I liked it, I liked it a lot even though I was still loyal to Raimi. Then I saw Amazing Spider-Man 2, which I thought was a good movie, Electro was great. I mean, Green Goblin might’ve been a little forced, but it was less forced than the stuff they squeezed into Spider-Man 3. Anywho, I was excited about the plans they had for The Amazing Spider-Man with Sinister Six, Venom, and a 3rd and maybe even 4th Spidey movie.

But due the recent news, all that excitement is all for not. The Sony Hacks have revealed that all those plans have been cancelled, Amazing Spider-Man 2 didn’t do very well, so, like Sony said before as a last resort, they’re gonna give it to Disney. I love the idea of Spidey being with the Avengers, that is great. But I don’t want another reboot. I just moved on from Raimi’s Spidey franchise and I was willing to accept Amazing Spidey. Basically what ticks me off, is that I feel that if Sony starts something it should finish it. They had so much plans for Amazing Spidey and I was looking forward to it and now they’re throwing all that out the window. It makes me sad.

I mean, if they’re gonna include Spidey in the Avengers, they might as well use Andrew Garfield’s Spidey instead of starting from scratch, again. My friend tells me that they’re not gonna tell Spidey’s origin story again, and start with Parker already Spidey in adulthood, and that the two of the ideas they’re workshopping is Spidey would work with the Sinister Six against Venom and Carnage or use the Kraven’s Last Hunt as the storyline. Sinister Six sounds nice, but I don’t like Kraven’s Last Hunt, I mean I’m sure it’s a great story, but I don’t know if it’s what I want in the next reboot.

I am just so disappointed. I got over Raimi’s Spider-Man, now I got to get over Webb’s Spider-Man. Again, if you started something, you should at least finish it. Like Dark Knight, they finished it before they rebooted it again, that’s why I’m okay with the Batman reboot, because the first was done and ended. Neither Raimi nor Webb’s ended with a good resolution.

P.S.

I also heard a rumor that they offered to bring Raimi back. As much as I like it to be true, I don’t think it’s gonna happen. They’ve all moved on.

So sad right now.

Leave a Reply

