The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen Reboot

It takes me forever to find a subject worth talking about, but this one is very near and dear to my heart.

I use to be a fan of the League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, comic book and movie. I use to like the movie very much, but not a lot of people liked it as much as I did so I lost interest and it does have it’s fair share of flaws I’ll admit that. But I also like the comics and after awhile I became a stickler when it came to adaptations of books, comics, and videogames, any adaptations for that matter.

Those of you who don’t know, the comic and movie tells the story of a team of classic literary characters such as Mina Murray (Dracula), Alan Quartermain (King Salomon’s Mines), Captain Nemo (20,000 League Under the Sea), Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, and the Invisible Man. Many other character are in the stories as well, pretty much every character in these comics is from a classic book. The book was about them being united to find a stolen invention to prevent it from being used for evil, the movie was about them trying to stop a world war with the addition of characters Dorian Grey and Tom Sawyer.

SPOILERS AHEAD

Both the book and the movie had the same basic premise, the league united by someone who uses them for evil without their knowledge, their employer turned out to be Professor James Mariorty (Sherlock Holmes). In the book they were used to recover an invention that was stolen from him to use for evil, in the movie he brought them together to steal their powers and sell them to the highest bidders.

The movie was a bomb, it even pissed off the writer Alan Moore that he didn’t wanna be credited in anymore of his books adapted into movies such as Watchmen and V for Vendetta. But it has come to my attention that they are gonna reboot the comic book. I am both excited and frightened at the same time. Because first of all I’m hoping they get it right this time, and make a proper adaption of the book like they did with Watchmen and V for Vendetta. It reminds me of a story that my dad told me of a book that was adapted into a poor movie that was nothing like the book, years later someone pitched to adapt the book into a movie, they replied “But it’s already been adapted” and the writer replied, “Haha, no it hasn’t.”

Anywho, I like the first two books, despite the book turning one of the League members, my favorite League member, into a villain and killing off another. What also bothers me is that it might be impossible to adapt them because the first movie ran into the problem with copyright when they couldn’t use the name Griffin for the Invisible Man because it was owned by Universal and they couldn’t use the name the Phantom and had to spell it as Fantom.

But another thing that scares me is that, I don’t seem to be fond of the 3rd book and spin-offs. I haven’t read the books but I researched them and they don’t sound appealing. They portrayed James Bond and Harry Potter as a villains, which I don’t approve of and disgusted by. If the reboot becomes a success (yeah right), what happens when they adapt those, I doubt Bond and Potter fans will approve of that like I hadn’t. Let’s hope they at least do the first one justice, maybe they’ll make the same mistake as the first movie and make a total new story that isn’t like the comic book at all.

Those are my pros and cons of a LXG reboot. Let’s hope they get it right this time.

Leave a Reply

