My Terminator Genisys Timeline Theory

I recently saw Terminator Genisys, and I liked it, I liked it a lot. But I had a lot of questions. What mostly bothered me was:

SPOILERS AHEAD

In Terminator Genisys we see the future war from John Connor winning the war to sending Kyle Reese back to 1984. But the problem is, right when Kyle is sent back in time, a Terminator played by Matt Smith, called as Alex, grabs Connor and we later learned turned Connor into a Terminator, a T-3000. But if this is the same timeline we saw in Terminator and Terminator 2, than when was the 2nd Terminator, will call him Uncle Bob, and the T-1000 sent back in time to 1994? Now we know for sure that this movie retcons Rise of the Machines and Salvation, but does it retcon Terminator 2 also, which seems unlikely since we see T-1000s. I think I have pulled together the timeline for the series. According to the writers of the Genisys explain that Alex is from a different timeline:

Laeta Kalogridis: Skynet. You see in the beginning. He grabs John. He’s not from this timeline. He’s from an alternate universe, in the multiverse, another of the many universes that exist. That Skynet is not from that timeline.

Patrick Lussier: It is the understanding that for Skynet, finally realizing that “I cannot just wipe out the humans, I can never defeat the humans unless I have the best weapon that humans have, and that is him.”

Laeta Kalogridis: Or, more simply put, if you have a Skynet that has witnessed multiple iterations of the rise of the machines, which Skynet has…

Patrick Lussier: And being wiped out over and over…

Laeta Kalogridis: This Skynet has been to this universe, and this universe, and this universe. That’s why he says, “I came a very long way to stop you.” He’s not from here. So he’s watched it. He’s watched it happen a bunch of different times, and each time he’s seen it there is a different result but the same result.

Laeta Kalogridis: This particular Skynet, from another place. This Skynet – not from the original two movies – can [hop to different dimensions].

So this leaves me to believe this is how the timeline goes:

Full Terminator Timeline

It’s likely that the writers of Genisys were retconning Rise of the Machines and Salvation, but it’s possible that they didn’t. The writers leave me to believe that Matt Smith’s Alex/Skynet somehow, traveled from a parallel future, possibly after Salvation or another timeline that overrides Salvation to the original timeline that he originally lost and assimilated Connor.

Though that’s not how I would’ve done it. If I did the movie, I wouldn’t have Connor assimilated right when Kyle went back and have Skynet come from a parallel timeline. I would’ve had Kyle simply go back in time without Connor being attacked, the story continues from there, then we meet Connor, who came from an unknown future we haven’t seen yet where he was assimilated instead of the original timeline we saw in T1 and T2. I feel the way Skynet coming from a parallel timeline and assimilating Connor in the original timeline before he sends back the 2nd Terminator Uncle Bob just complicates things. It would’ve been simpler if Connor was assimilated in another timeline.

We still don’t know who sent back Pops and the Asian T-1000, if they get a sequel, which looks dodgy at this point, we’ll probably find out. I just hope if they get one, they explain more of these problems.

But don’t get me wrong, I overall liked it, I liked it a lot, I thought it was the best sequel since the 2nd one. It just confuses me a little, that’s why I came up with this theory, which makes sense, just very complicated. I just think it would’ve been better the way I pitched to you with Terminator-Connor coming from a different future. I think it would’ve been better this way.

P.S.

I would’ve also preferred to somehow include Michael Biehn and Linda Hamilton in someway, shape, or form. I mean if they’re gonna bring back old fart Schwarzenegger, why not Biehn and Hamilton.

Leave a Reply

